ga('send', 'pageview');

First Corporate Communications Awards Holds amid Glitz and Glamour

By Dipo Olowookere

It was a day of honour for Nigeria’s Corporate Communications industry as the first Corporate Communications Awards held in grand style.

On Saturday, April 1, 2017, all roads led to the Lagos Oriental Hotel in Lekki, where stakeholders the sector were celebrated.

In fact, it was an evening of music, gala and networking, which brought together eminent personalities.

Winners emerged via nominations by Corporate Communications professionals, public voting as well as deliberations by members of the Advisory Board and from various industries including the media, academia and Corporate Communications.

They were presented with an attractive plaque in recognition of their outstanding achievements in Corporate Communications world.

ALSO READ  Why Small Businesses are Thriving Better With Wema Bank

Sesema PR, the organizers of the CCAS, extended warm congratulations to all award winners. According to Tampiri Irimagha-Akemu, MD, Sesema PR; “The CCAs identified and rewarded the very best in Corporate Communications. The award event will be an annual feature of Nigeria’s corporate communications industry.”

Winners at the CCAS 2017 were Jago Milk, “for the winner in you”, best use of video award; Wedding party- Elfike Film Collective, best use of PR in entertainment award; Keex Tribe (Jide Ipaye), best use of PR in SME; Funke Akindele, best use of individual PR award; Union Bank, best rebranding project award; and Indomie’s “You Like No Other” campaign won the campaign of the year award.

ALSO READ  FG Probes Defunct Skye Bank Directors, May Begin Trial Soon

Special media recognition was also given to Guardian, Ebonylifetv, and Bellanaija. Francesca Uriri, founder, Leading Ladies Africa and PR Manager at Weber Shandwick, won the Alima Atta Excellence award.

Amaechi Okobi, Group Head, Communications & External Affairs, Access Bank Plc, emerged corporate communications professional of the year.

In attendance were industry players such as Yomi Badejo-Okunsanya, Group CEO CMC Connect; Anudeep Sharma, Marketing Head Sosaco Nigeria Ltd; Otega Ogra, Group Head Corporate Communications BUA Group; Usman Imanal, Corporate Communications Manager, Stanbic IBTC; Irene Kayoma, Payporte Head Corporate Strategy; Toyin Egbebi, Corporate Communications, Ericsson; Dooyum Okwong, Marketing Communications and Customer Experience Manager, Letshego amongst others.

ALSO READ  Fitch Affirms GTBank at 'B+' With Negative Outlook

The CCAS also featured a competition for young graduates- The Corporate Communications Pitch Competition (CCPC).

Deniran Oghenemine, a graduate of Business Administration from the University of Benin emerged winner in the IT/Digital aspect of the CCPC, while Steven Aghalu, a graduate of Mass Communication, also from the University of Benin emerged winner of the PR aspect of the CCPC.

The winners were presented with cash prizes of N130,000 each and a 6-months paid internship at Sesema Public Relations.

Related Articles

Dipo Olowookere is a journalist based in Nigeria that has passion for reporting business news stories. At his leisure time, he watches football and supports 3SC of Ibadan.

more recommended stories

%d bloggers like this: