ga('create', 'UA-82078971-1', 'auto'); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'linkid'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('send', 'pageview');

Buhari Picks Mustapha to Chair NDIC Board

By Modupe Gbadeyanka

Mr Olabode Mustapha has been nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari to chair the board of director of the Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC).

Also, the President nominated six other Nigerians as members of the board of the agency, which is saddled with the responsibility of protecting depositors and guarantee payment of insured funds in the event of failure of insured institutions.

The nominees for membership of the agency are Festus Keyamo (SAN), Garba Buba, Bello Garba, Mustapha Adewale, Brig-Gen Josef Okoloagu (rtd) and Adewale Adeleke.

At the plenary yesterday, the Senate Leader, Mr Ahmad Lawan, said President Buhari had requested for the confirmation of six other members of NDIC Board in line with section 5(4) of the NDIC Act 2016.

Deputy Senate President, Mr Ike Ekweremadu, who presided over Wednesday’s plenary, referred the nominees to the Senate Committee on Banking chaired by Mr Rafiu Adebayo for screening.

Modupe Gbadeyanka is a fast-rising journalist with Business Post Nigeria. Her passion for journalism is amazing. She is willing to learn more with a view to becoming one of the best pen-pushers in Nigeria. Her role models are the duo of CNN's Richard Quest and Christiane Amanpour.

more recommended stories

%d bloggers like this: