INEC Declares Obaseki Edo Governor-Elect


By Ebitonye Akpodigha

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr Godwin Obaseki, as winner of the Wednesday governorship election in Edo State.

Mr Obaseki defeated his closest rival, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), to win the race.

At the end of collation of results on Thursday, September 29, 2016, INEC’s Returning Officer for the exercise, Professor Kayode Soremilekun, declared Mr Obaseki as the Edo State Governor-elect.

Prof Soremilekun announced that the APC candidate polled a total of 319,483 votes, while his opponent, Mr Ize-Iyamu managed to gather 253,173 votes.

Elections were held in the 18 local government areas of Edo State

It was gathered that while the PDP won in Esan North Central, Esan West LGA, Orhionmwon LGA, Esan South East LGA, Esan North East LGA, the APC dominated in Akoko-Edo LGA, Ikpoba-Okha, Etsako West, Etsako East, Etsako Cenral, Owan East LGA, Ovia North LGA, Oredo LGA, Uhunwomnde,  Igueben LGA, Egor LGA and Owan West LGA.

Below is breakdown of the full results as announced by INEC:

AA – 155;

ACD – 1,350;

ACPN – 3,184;

APC – 319,483;

APGA – 876;

CPP – 226;

ID – 99;

KOWA – 75;

LP – 182;

NPPP – 125;

NCP – 294;

NNPP – 118;

PDC – 1,289;

PDP – 253,173;

PPA – 855;

PPN – 112;

SDP – 72;

UPP – 431;

YDP – 200.

Dipo Olowookere is a journalist based in Nigeria that has passion for reporting business news stories. At his leisure time, he watches football and supports 3SC of Ibadan. Mr Olowookere can be reached via

more recommended stories

%d bloggers like this: