Buhari Reshuffles NLNG, BGT Boards

July 14, 2020
Nigeria LNG Limited NLNG

By Adedapo Adesanya

President Muhammadu Buhari has reconstituted the boards of Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas Limited (NLNG) and Bonny Gas Transport Limited (BGT).

Following this action, the President has appointed Mr Edmund Daukoru as Chairman and President of the boards of the NLNG and BGT. Mr Daukoru will replace Mr Osobonye Longjohn.

In a statement in Abuja, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Mr Timipre Sylva, disclosed that Mr Buhari also appointed four other individuals to the board of the NLNG and four others to the board of BGT.

The other appointments to the board of the NLNG, according to the statement, include Mr Henry Ikem-Obih, former Chief Operating Officer in charge of Downstream, at the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC); and Mr Rabiu Suleiman, former Group Executive Director at the NNPC.

The president also appointed Group Managing Director of the NNPC, Mr Mele Kyari, and Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Mr Bitrus Nabasu, as members of the board of the NLNG, based on their statutory positions.

On the other hand for Bonny Gas Transport Limited (BGT), in addition to the appointment of Edmund Daukoru as President of the board, Mr Sylva disclosed that the President also appointed Mrs Doyin Akinyanju and Mr Abdul Abba as members of the board of the BGT, while Group Managing Director of the NNPC, Mallam Mele Kyari and Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Mr Bitrus Nabasu were also appointed as statutory members.

The statement read in parts, “President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the representatives of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the Boards of the NLNG and BGT. You may recall that the current Board members have been on the respective Boards since 2005 and it became imperative to inject fresh ideas into the governance of the companies.

“I will like to use this opportunity to thank the Chairman and other outgoing Board members of NLNG and BGT for steering the companies to record successes, particularly the train 7 final investment decision (FID). I wish the exiting members good health and more successes in their future endeavours.

“To the incoming members of the Board, I congratulate you on this appointment and your selection is based on your experience, integrity and expertise. I therefore, urge you to bring all these to bear in the discharge of your responsibilities in line with the agenda of Mr President.”

Adedapo Adesanya

Adedapo Adesanya is a journalist, polymath, and connoisseur of everything art. When he is not writing, he has his nose buried in one of the many books or articles he has bookmarked or simply listening to good music with a bottle of beer or wine. He supports the greatest club in the world, Manchester United F.C.

Leave a Reply

timipre sylva oil minister
Previous Story

Nigeria Yet to Comply with OPEC+ Deal—Minister

zainab ahmed finance minister
Next Story

How Nigeria Can Avert Looming Recession—Minister

Latest from Jobs/Appointments