Sanwo-Olu Appoints MC Oluomo as Head of Motor Parks in Lagos

April 7, 2022
MC Oluomo Sanwo-Olu

By Dipo Olowookere

Controversial transporter, Mr Musiliu Akinsanya, popularly known as MC Oluomo, has been appointed by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu as the head of motor parks in Lagos State.

The appointment of MC Oluomo comes a day after the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) sacked him as the Chairman of the Lagos State chapter over anti-union activities.

He had announced his exit from the association and advised the Lagos State government to suspend the group in the state and replace it with a committee.

After his suggestion, the state government swung into action on March 10, 2022, by suspending NURTW operations in all parks and garages, claiming the action was taken because of the “tension sparked by some events in the union.”

In a statement issued on Thursday by the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr Gbenga Omotoso, disclosed that the embattled union leader will serve as the chairman of the newly constituted Parks Management Committee by the state government.

The team has the mandate to “oversee the affairs of all motor parks and garages in the state” in fulfilment of the government’s promise to ensure that events in the NURTW are not allowed to threaten law and order.

The Commissioner said the appointment of MC Oluomo and others, including the immediate past Commissioner of Police in Lagos, Mr Hakeem Odumosu, followed “consultations with stakeholders” in the transport sector.

According to him, the former police chief will only act as the government liaison officer, while Mr Sulyman Ojora will be the deputy chairman, with Dr Taiwo Olufemi Salaam as the secretary.

Other members of the 25-man group are Comrade Olayiwola Lemboye, Mr Mustapha Adekunle, Mr Ganiyu Shittu, Mr Mukaila Runsewe, Mr Sulyman Yusuf, Mr Mufutau Mutiu, Mr Yinka Hassan, Mr Sunday Ogunleye and Mr Moshood Omojowa.

The others are Mr Ismaila Aigoro, Mr Ibrahim Yusuf, Mr Akeem Tijani, Mrs Omolabake Adelakun, Comrade Kazeem Hassan, Mr Wasiu Amole, Mr Ganiyu Ayinde, Mr Anthony Adeyinka Adeboye, Mr John Victor Owolabi, Mr Saburi Salami, Mr Ibrahim Onitiju and Mr Odusanya Gbenga.

The statement stressed that members of the committee are to report to the Ministry of Transportation, Alausa Secretariat, Ikeja.

Dipo Olowookere

Dipo Olowookere is a journalist based in Nigeria that has passion for reporting business news stories. At his leisure time, he watches football and supports 3SC of Ibadan.

Mr Olowookere can be reached via [email protected]

Leave a Reply

NASD Unlisted Securities Index
Previous Story

NDEP, Friesland Extend Stay of Bulls at Unlisted Securities Exchange

Bootstrapping Your Business
Next Story

Bootstrapping Your Business from the Ground up

Latest from Auto

Don't Miss