Delta Shines At ADVAN Awards

October 31, 2016
Delta Shines At ADVAN Awards


By Ebitonye Akpodigha

Delta State’s 25th Anniversary Campaign emerged the winner of the maiden Public Sector Marketing Category of the Advertisers Association of Nigeria (ADVAN) Awards for Marketing Excellence 2016 at the MUSON Centre in Lagos at the weekend.

Delta State Commissioner for Information, Mr Patrick Ukah, who received the award on behalf of the State Governor, Mr Ifeanyi Okowa, dedicated it to all Deltans and praised them for giving the governor the opportunity to serve, stressing that Governor Okowa was determined to fulfil his electoral promises anchored on the S.M.A.R.T agenda.

According to Mr Ukah, the 25th Anniversary campaign which was anchored on the foundation laid by the SMART agenda of the Governor was funded strictly by the public sectors’ investment, for, according to him “we believe the government cannot do it alone”.

Appreciating ADVAN for the award, Mr Ukah said “this is the first, and so far, the only award the Governor is accepting because of the credibility of ADVAN and I am not sure we would accept another soon until we can be properly judged”.

In his welcome address, Mr David Okeme, President of the association, highlighted the place of marketing in the growth of the nation’s economy and enjoined private and public institutions to take advantage of it to grow their businesses.

Speaking earlier at the well-attended event, the Guest Speaker, Mr Segun Ogunsanyan, the CEO Airtel Nigeria, said the awards must be seen as the reward for outcome or results and not just efforts as nobody rewards effort but results.

He emphasized that digital advertising is now the new medium of advertising which when well employed is a very strong channel to reach the people and endear many companies and their products to the youths.

The ADVAN Awards for Marketing Excellence 2016 which was in several categories saw Indomie win “The Brand of the Year Award”. The position also carries a dual award of “The Brand Manager of the Year Award”. The second position went to Coca-cola while Heineken took the third position.

The event attracted very important stakeholders within and outside the country in the marketing industry.

Dipo Olowookere

Dipo Olowookere is a journalist based in Nigeria that has passion for reporting business news stories. At his leisure time, he watches football and supports 3SC of Ibadan.

Mr Olowookere can be reached via [email protected]

Leave a Reply

What I Told Obanikoro, Fani-Kayode At EFCC Cell—Kukah
Previous Story

What I Told Obanikoro, Fani-Kayode At EFCC Cell—Kukah

BREAKING: Skye Bank Sacks 50 Workers
Next Story

BREAKING: Skye Bank Sacks 50 Workers

Latest from General

Don't Miss