Edo 2020: INEC Declares Obaseki Winner of Guber Poll

edo traders obaseki

By Dipo Olowookere

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Governor Godwin Obaseki as the winner of the September 19, 2020, gubernatorial election in Edo State.

Mr Obaseki defeated his closest rival, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu in the keenly contested poll by over 84,000 votes and won 13 of the 18 local government areas of the state.

The winner won the exercise under the umbrella of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), while Mr Ize-Iyamu contested the election holding the broom of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

According to the electoral umpire, the candidate of the PDP polled a total of 307,955 votes, while his APC counterpart garnered 223,619 votes from the exercise.

INEC, while announcing the final results on Sunday afternoon in Benin City, the state capital, said Mr Obaseki clearly won the poll and is returned elected.

Meanwhile, the declaration of Governor Obaseki as the winner of the election has sparked jubilation in Edo State, with many residents taking to the streets to celebrate the victory.

With the win, Mr Obaseki will have the opportunity to remain as Governor of the state for another four years.

The Governor contested for the same position four years ago under the platform of the APC. However, because he fell out with leaders of the party, including the former Governor of the state, Mr Adams Oshiomhole, he had to defect to the PDP to seek another four-year tenure.

Dipo Olowookere is a journalist based in Nigeria that has passion for reporting business news stories. At his leisure time, he watches football and supports 3SC of Ibadan. Mr Olowookere can be reached via dipo.olowookere@businesspost.ng

more recommended stories

%d bloggers like this: