ga('send', 'pageview');

Ecobank’s Stanley Jacob Chairs CeBIH, Vows to Deepen Financial Inclusion

By Dipo Olowookere

The Head of Consumer Distribution at Ecobank Nigeria, Mr Stanley Jacob, has been elected as Chairman of the Committee of e-Banking Industry Heads (CeBIH).

With his election, Mr Jacob will pilot affairs of the body for the next one year, ensuring that the association’s vision of driving the “adoption of electronic banking services through the right technologies, policies, standards, innovation and public awareness” is achieved.

Before his election as Chairman of CeBIH, Mr Jacob was the Vice Chairman of the group in 2017.

The new Chairman of CeBIH is a Certified Digital Payments and Project Management Professional with key strengths on Digital Financial Services, Emerging Payments, Strategy and Retail Transformation.

During the election, which was peaceful, Mr Kayode Olubiyi from Keystone Bank was voted in as Vice-Chairman of CeBIH.

ALSO READ  Forte Oil Appoints Nigerian Breweries CEO As Director

Also, Yemi Atanda from GTBank became the Secretary-Industry Shared Services, while Bidemi Asunmo of Sterling Bank was elected as Secretary-Other Financial Institutions (OFIs) & Fintech Relations.

Mike Onwu from Heritage Bank was picked as Secretary-Emerging Payments & Technologies; Celestina Appeal from Zenith Bank was voted as Secretary- Product Pricing & Revenue Assurance.

Furthermore, Mike Ogba of Access Bank emerged as Secretary-Finance & Treasury; Gloria Eruemegbe from Union Bank became Secretary-Publicity & Advocacy.

In addition, Nmutaka Chikwendu from Stanchart was elected as the Internal Auditor, while Oluremi Tinuolu from Unity Bank emerged Assistant Secretary – Finance & Treasury.

Speaking at his acceptance speech in Lagos at the Keystone Bank headquarters, Mr Jacob said the new executive will pursue three broad agenda namely financial inclusion, digital security and strengthened collaboration among industry stakeholders.

ALSO READ  Ecobank to File HY Financial Statements August 24

He stressed that CeBIH, under his leadership, will work tirelessly with other stakeholders to reduce financial exclusion which currently is over 40 percent in Nigeria as well as bridge the wide digital divide in the country.

“As CeBIH we will actively collaborate with industry to provide the needed financial services at the right pricing to the bottom of the pyramid. We will also ensure adequate capacity building for all stakeholders to equip them in tackling the exclusion challenge.”

According to him, CeBlH will pull industry resources and work with the regulators to promote an industry approach for combating cyber-security and payment frauds. Financial literacy campaigns and robust customer education will also be a key tool to achieving this.

“This new executive council will strengthen collaboration by promoting the Shared Agency Network Facility (SANEF) with a view to ensuring that the expected benefits are delivered to consumers; partnerships with other financial institutions (OFIs) and FinTechs to deliver improved financial services; Research and case studies to drive emerging payments,” he said.

ALSO READ  Access Bank Shines at EMEA Finance Banking Awards

Immediate past Chairman of CeBIH, Mr Dele Adeyinka, charged the new executives to continue with the mission and vision of the group, which is using collaboration with drive financial inclusion and adoption of electronic payment, which are what CeBIH stands for today.

He noted that under the leadership of the outgoing executives, CeBIH reached out to various industry stakeholders and this initiative yielded results which became evident through better engagement of CeBIH in issues pertaining to policy formulation in the industry.

Related Articles

Dipo Olowookere is a journalist based in Nigeria that has passion for reporting business news stories. At his leisure time, he watches football and supports 3SC of Ibadan.

more recommended stories

%d bloggers like this: