Toyin Abraham, Odunlade, Others Vie for 2020 BON Awards Glory

2020 BON Awards

By Dipo Olowookere

Some stars in the Nigerian film industry have been nominated for the 2020 edition of the prestigious Best of Nollywood (BON) Awards.

The likes of Toyin Abraham, Odunlade Adekola, Alex Ekubo, Adesua Etomi, Kehinde Bankole, Nkechi Blessing, Funsho Adeolu were among the notable faces on the screens nominated for the event, which has 33 different categories.

The nominees were unveiled to the world at a virtual ceremony held recently with Joke Silva, Gbenga Adeyinka, Segun Arinze, Dele Momodu, Shina Peller, Wale Ojo-Lanre, Femi Akintunde Johnson and others in attendance.

Convener of BON Awards, Mr Seun Oloketuyi, while speaking at the ceremony, disclosed that Ekiti State will host this year’s edition, the 12th, of the programme on December 5, with Debo Macaroni and Tana Adelana as anchors.

A breakdown of the nominations showed that Elevator Baby, Sugar Rush, The Sessions, Wede, This Lady Called Life, and Living In Bondage (Breaking Free) have been nominated in the movie of the year category.

The full nomination is presented below;

Best Actor in a Leading Role (English)

Efa Iwara – The Sessions

Timini Egbuson – Elevator Baby

JKA Swanky – Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)

Eyinna Nwigwe – Dear Affy

Daniel K. Daniel – The Fugitive

Femi Jacobs – Colours of Deceit

Best Actress in a Leading Role (English)

Bisola Aiyeola – This Lady Called Life

Omowunmi Dada – The Sessions

Kehinde Bankole – Dear Affy

Toyin Abraham – Elevator Baby

Toni Tones – Killing Jade

Adesua Etomi – Sugar Rush

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (English)

Alex Ekubo – Bling Lagosians

Williams Uchemba/Tobi Bakre – Sugar Rush

Byran Emmanuel – Colours of Deceit

Tope Tedela – Country Hard

Blossom Chukwujekwu/Abayomi Alvin – Unroyal

Best Actress in a Supporting Role (English)

Banke Joye – Traffic

Ruth Kadiri – Too Old For This

Sharon Ooja – Bling Lagosians

Bimbo Ademoye/Bisola Aiyeola – Sugar Rush

Tina Mba – This Lady Called Life

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Yoruba)

Jide Awobona – You Are Me

Lateef Adedimeji – Etan

Akin Kolapo – Asarailu

Joseph Momodu – Torera

Ibrahim Yekini – Lucifer

Funso Adeolu- Digiola

Best Actress in a Leading Role (Yoruba)

Adebimpe Oyebade – Agbelebu Jade

Bukunmi Oluwashina – You Are Me

Nkechi Blessing – Torera

King Flakie – Digiola

Abisola Adebayo – Never Too Late

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Yoruba)

Yomi Olorunlolaye/Olaide Almoruf – Brothers

Bimbo Sunday – Asarailu

Odunlade Adekola – Never Too Late

Dele Odule – Agbelebu Jade

Femi Adebayo/Kelvin Ikedua – Lucifer

Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Yoruba)

Khadija Ayoade – You Are Me

Abisola Adebayo – Agbelebu Jade

Regina Chukwu – Digiola

Ashabi Ademefun – Brothers

Ireti Osayemi – Never Too Late

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Igbo)

Francis Duru – Mboputa

Stan Eze – Ishi Anyaocha

JKA Swanky – Nne

Best Actress in a Leading Role (Igbo)

Chidiebere Aneke – Ishi Anyaocha

Frances Nsonwu Ikoroha – Nne

Happy Julian Uchendu – Mboputa

Best Child Actor

Daniel Adeshina – Basil

Divine Godwin Otun – Innocent

Molawa Onajobi – This Lady Called Life

King David Akpakwu – My Grandfather’s Wife

Chima David Ntongha – The Pain Your Storm

Best Child Actress

Amarachi Onwe – Secrets

Chimamanda Unigwe- Perfect Marriage

Movie with the Best Social Message

Not So Long a Letter


Black Monday

Dan Kasa

Country Hard

The Session

Moses Olaiya Movie with the Best Comedy

Dear Affy

Elevator Baby

Bling Lagosians

Sugar Rush

Best Short Film

Dial 112

Pole Girl

The Honourable

Dan kasa

The Bean Hawker

Best Documentary

Journey to Gambia

Tame The Serial Killer


Movie with the Best Special Effect



Sugar Rush

Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)

Movie with the Best Screenplay

This Lady Called Life

Bling Lagosians

Elevator Baby

The Sessions

Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)

Dear Affy

Best Use of Nigerian Food in a Movie

This Lady Called Life


The Sessions

My Grandfather’s Wife


Best use of Costume in a Movie


Broken Water


Living in Bondage (Breaking in Bondage)


Best Use of Make-up in a Movie

Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)

The Sessions


Broken Water


Movie with the Best Sound


Living in Bondage


Movie with the Best Sound Track


Colours of Deceit

Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)


The Sessions

Country Hard

Movie with the Best Editing

Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)

This Lady Called Life

Sugar Rush

Elevator Baby

The Sessions

Movie with the Best Production Design

This Lady Called Life


Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)



Broken Water

Movie with the Best Cinematography

Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)


Sugar Rush

Bling Lagosians

Dear Affy

Best Kiss in a Movie

Alex Ekubo/Sharon Ooja – Bling Lagosians

JKA Swanky/Munachi Abii – Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)

Laura Fidel/Kunle Remi- Pole Girl

Omowunmi Dada/Efa Iwara – The Sessions

IK Ogbonna/Matilda Lambert-Unroyal

Most Promising Actor of the Year

Tobi Bakare – Sugar Rush

Denola Grey – Bling Lagosians

Obinna Montero – Too Old for This

Most Promising Actress of the Year

Banke Joye –  Traffic

Motilola Adekunle –  To Have and To Hold

Aisha Mohammed –  Colours of Deceit

Chinelo Enemchukwu – Perfect Marriage

Mary John – Perfect Marriage

Revelation of the Year (Male)

Tunde Aderinoye

Fuad Ferdinand

Swanky JKA

Mike Afolarin

Moshood Fattah

Heavens Obule

Revelation of the Year (Female)

Muniachi Abi

Bolaji Ogunmola

Dami Awokoya

Mimi Daniels

Temi Otedola

Director of the Year

Kayode Kasum  – This Lady Called Life

Ramsey Nouah – Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)

Lancelot Imasuen – WEDE

Akay Mason – Elevator Baby

Judith Audu- The Sessions

Kayode Kasum – Sugar Rush

Movie of the Year

Living in Bondage (Breaking Free)

This Lady Called Life

The Sessions


Sugar Rush

Elevator Baby

Dipo Olowookere is a journalist based in Nigeria that has passion for reporting business news stories. At his leisure time, he watches football and supports 3SC of Ibadan. Mr Olowookere can be reached via

more recommended stories

%d bloggers like this: