Global Trade: Osinbajo Inaugurates Competitiveness Council

May 31, 2017
Global Trade: Osinbajo Inaugurates Competitiveness Council

Global Trade: Osinbajo Inaugurates Competitiveness Council

By Modupe Gbadeyanka

In a bid to make Nigeria competitive in the global business and commerce, the Acting President, Mr Yemi Osinbajo, inaugurated the National Industrial Policy and Competitiveness Advisory Council.

The council was installed in Abuja and the Acting President is its Chairman.

Speaking at the inauguration, Mr Osinbajo said the council became necessary because of President Muhammadu Buhari’s determination to position Nigeria as one of the top countries in the business world.

He tasked the council to ensure the aims and objectives were achieved, pointing out the success of Nigeria hinges on the team.

“If the council cannot get it right, then it is unlikely that the country can never get it right,” the Acting President said at the inauguration ceremony yesterday.

He said further that, “This is not just a patriotic duty, but a rescue mission. It is to give Nigeria a chance to be competitive in global business and commerce.”

Mr Osinbajo added that, “This is also to give our people a fair chance to create livelihood for themselves.”

He charged members of the council, drawn from the private sector in Nigeria, to bring their success formula into play so as to achieve the main goal of the council.

The Acting President expressed confidence that the council will succeed to make the country highly competitive in the global market.

He assured that the Federal Government would continue to make the environment friendlier to businesses in the country, pointing that recent government policies have been geared towards this.

Members of the council include the Acting President, Mr Yemi Osinbajo, who is the Chairman; Minister of Industry Trade and Investment, Mr Okechukwu Enelamah, as the Vice-Chairman, Public Sector; and Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment, Mrs Aisha Abubakar as Alternate Vice-Chairman, Public Sector.

Other members of the Public Sector team of the council are Minister for Budget & National Planning, Mr Udoma Udo Udoma; Minister of Finance, Mrs Kemi Adeosun; Minister for Agriculture and Rural Development, Mr Audu Ogbeh; Minister for Power, Works & Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola; Minister for Transportation, Mr Rotimi Amaechi; Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Mr Ibe Kachikwu; Minister for Mines and Steel Development, Mr Kayode Fayemi; Minister for Science & Technology, Mr Ogbonnaya Onu; and Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Mr Godwin Emefiele.

The technical committee members are Economic Adviser to the President, Mr Yemi Dipeolu; Trade Adviser/Chief Negotiator, Mr Chiedu Osakwe; Bank of Industry MD, Mr Kayode Pitan; Executive Director/CEO of Nigerian Export Promotion Council, Mr Olusegun Awolowo; Executive Secretary of Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission, Ms Yewande Sadiku; Statistician-General of National Bureau of Statistics, Mr Yemi Kale; and the CEO of Economic Associates, Dr Ayo Teriba.

President of Dangote Group, Mr Aliko Dangote is the Vice-Chairman, Private Sector, while Chairman of ANAP Business Jets Ltd, Mr Atedo Peterside is the Alternate Vice-Chairman, Private Sector.

Other Private Sector members are Chairman of Nigerian Breweries and PZ Cussons, Chief Kola Jamodu; Chairman of BUA Group, Mr Abdulsamad Rabiu; Chairman of IVM Innoson Group of Companies Limited, Mr Innocent Ifediaso Chukwuma; GMD of Chi Foods Nigeria, Mr Rahul Savara; Chairman of Flour Mills of Nigeria Plc, Mr John Coumantarous; CEO of Emzor Pharmaceuticals, Mrs Stella Okoli; and Country Head of Olam, Mr Mukul Mathur.

Also on the council membership are President/CEO of Beloxxi Industries Limited, Mr Obi Ezeude; MD/CEO of Fidson Healthcare Plc, Mr Fidelis Ayebea; Founder of Flutterwave, Mr Iyinoluwa Aboyeji; President & CEO of GE Business Operations Nigeria, Mr Lazarus Angbazo; CEO of Jumia, Mrs Juliet Anamah; CEO of SecureID Nigeria Ltd, Mrs Kofo Akinkugbe; Chairman/CEO of AMMASCO International Limited, Mr Ado Mustapha; and Chairman of KAM Industries, Mr Kamaldeen Yusuf.

Others are Chairman of United Textiles Plc, Mr Adamu Atta; Chairman of Rumbu Sacks Nigeria Limited, Mr Ibrahim Salisu Buhari; Chairman of Tofa Group, Mr Isiaku Tofa; MD/CEO Proforce Limited, Mr Ade Ogundeyin; and President of Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN), Mr Frank Udemba Jacobs.

Modupe Gbadeyanka

Modupe Gbadeyanka is a fast-rising journalist with Business Post Nigeria. Her passion for journalism is amazing. She is willing to learn more with a view to becoming one of the best pen-pushers in Nigeria. Her role models are the duo of CNN's Richard Quest and Christiane Amanpour.

Leave a Reply

e-commerce sector africa
Previous Story

MasterCard, Jumia Partner to Push Africa’s e-Commerce Sector to $50b by 2018

Nigeria: Meningitis Kills 1,114 in 23 States
Next Story

Nigeria: Meningitis Kills 1,114 in 23 States

Latest from Economy

Don't Miss