Buhari Appoints Magnus Abe, Others to NNPC Board

By Adedapo Adesanya

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), the Presidency said on Saturday.

In a state house press release dated May 30, it was stated that the reconstitution became necessary after the tenure of current board members appointed in 2016 expired.

Six new members will emerge to the board of the national oil company and each will represent one geopolitical zones in the country.

Those appointed to the NNPC board are Mr Mohammed Lawal (North West), Mr Tajudeen Umar (North East), Mr Adamu Mahmood Attah (North Central), Mr Magnus Abe (South-South), Mr Stephen Dike (South East), and Mr Pius Akinyelure (South West).

The new board will be in place for three years, meaning that their tenure will expire in 2023.

Earlier on Saturday, the demise of NNPC’s immediate past General Managing Director, Mr Maikanti Kachalla Baru was announced.

The Current NNPC GMD, Mr Mele Kyari, announced Mr Baru’s passing via Twitter.

“My brother, my friend and my mentor, Dr Maikanti Kachalla Baru, immediate past GMD of NNPC died late last night,” Kyari said. “He was of exemplary character and disposition. May Allah forgive him and have mercy upon him,” he wrote.

According to further details on his demise, Mr Baru was aged 60 and died after a brief illness in an Abuja hospital.

Adedapo Adesanya is a journalist, polymath, and connoisseur of everything art. When he is not writing, he has his nose buried in one of the many books or articles he has bookmarked or simply listening to good music with a bottle of beer or wine. He supports the greatest club in the world, Manchester United F.C.

more recommended stories

%d bloggers like this: